Cooking at Home

In my email from MyGreenClick today, there was an article titled, “Save Your Carbon Footprint and Your Wallet by Cooking at Home.”

I admit that I love to eat out.  Don’t get me wrong; I love to cook too, but when I get home from work, I’m often not in the mood to cook an elaborate meal, and some days it seems too difficult to just put sandwich stuff on the table.  Combine that with the desire to eat as a family, but the need to feed a hungry five-year-old as soon as possible, and you can see (and probably empathize with me) how much of a pain in the butt cooking a meal can be sometimes.  There are days where Jeff and I just look at each other and say, “Let’s go out.”

However, the bank account is the ruling factor, and we really don’t have the money to eat out all the time.  As we’re trying to be better stewards of our money, we choose to eat at home and eat the food from the grocery store.  Which is also good financial stewardship, because then we have less food go to waste (something I’m working very hard at eliminating).

The best thing I’ve done for our situation is to plan ahead more.  There are evenings when I’m cutting up veggies and cooking beans right after I’ve done the dinner dishes, but then I can throw those items in the crockpot before I go to work the next morning.  The past two years in the fall, I get about a dozen peppers from the farmer’s market and make a huge batch of stuffed peppers, which go into the freezer.  I can pop those in the oven for an hour on nights when I can’t think of anything easy to fix.

And don’t forget about leftovers either.  Leftovers can provide lunch for the next day or dinner two nights over.  Eating those leftovers also prevents food going to waste.  And most can be frozen.

The Huffington Post offers more ideas for learning to eat in your own kitchen.  Happy cooking!

About faithenvironmentcollide

Child of God. Follower of Christ. Wife to Jeff. Mom to Liam. Environmental steward. Writer. Reader. Researcher. View all posts by faithenvironmentcollide

Leave a Reply

