Reset button

I know, I know, it’s been a while since I’ve posted. Between the end of the semester and then things getting busy at work, I’ve just taken a bit of a break from this blog. Plus, I’m not really feeling the “environmental thing” right now. No, I’ve not given it up as hopeless or lost interest; I think most of it is that this past semester was just SO intensive that I really need a break from thinking about the environment as a learning tool and instead, focusing on why learning about it is important to me. So the next few posts will be less about the environment and more about my faith and beliefs, so you get a bit of background on why this is important to me.

I’ve been thinking about this for several weeks, with the prices of gas (which doesn’t bother me) and food (which really bothers me) going up. I went grocery shopping yesterday, and a few of the staples that I buy every month had gone up drastically in price, just since last month, enough so that I almost rethought my purchases.

There are a lot of reasons that prices are rising so much, but the root of it all, in my not so humble opinion, is greed. We are greedy. We want to be paid as much as we can get, but we want to spend as little as possible on our needs and wants. I’m guilty of this too, so I’m not pointing fingers at anyone in particular – just America in general.

The recession we’re in right now hasn’t hit me as hard as it has seemed to have hit some of you. At this time last year, I was working 20 hours a week for not a lot of money and could barely pay my bills. Honestly, I’m not sure how I managed to buy our groceries, it was that bad. Right now, I’m working full time with a good salary, can pay all my bills, and can buy groceries. It’s been wonderful to be able to do that, and so I think I’ve been so grateful that I could buy food for my family that I’ve been not hit so hard by the rising costs. But I’m starting to notice it now, as staples in our house (mostly those things that contain any soy or rice) have become more expensive.

I propose a reset button. The country, even the world, has been through a recession before; we’ve even had a worldwide economic depression that lasted ten years and only ended because of a war. I don’t want it to come to that, especially as our country is already in the middle of a war, so I think we need to have a reset button. One push, and prices on EVERYTHING go down. Yes, wages too, but with lowered prices, we won’t need the higher wages.

I know, this is simplistic. But we need to see what these prices are doing to the poorest of the poor, not only in America, but in the poorest nations of the world. For example, prices on rice have gone up so much that in Haiti, there have been riots. Haitian wages can now only buy half as much rice as they did five months ago, and Haitians rely on rice as about 85% of their diet. Our greed is starving poor people. That’s a rather blunt way of putting it, but I’ll say it again: our greed is starving people. As followers of Christ, I’m pretty sure God doesn’t care about our profit and loss, and cares about the people going hungry, and I think He wants us to care about them too.

About faithenvironmentcollide

Child of God. Follower of Christ. Wife to Jeff. Mom to Liam. Environmental steward. Writer. Reader. Researcher. View all posts by faithenvironmentcollide

Leave a Reply

