LUSH Review – Round 2

Yes, it’s time for another review of LUSH products I’ve tried. LUSH had a promotion called Clean Slate earlier this month, so I stocked up on some things, and my transition to more environmentally friendly bath and skin care products is almost complete.

I got:

The Olive Branch shower gel. I’m used to using Happy Hippy, which I adore, but this one is just OK. Don’t get me wrong – it does it’s job. The bubbles are there, and in the bottle it smells pretty nice. Out of the bottle though? I dunno. Maybe it’s the bergamot, but combined with the orange and tangerine, it smells sort of smoky. Or maybe that’s the olive oil doing it. Not a big fan of smoky in the shower. Also, it’s thinner than Happy Hippy, but again, it gets me clean and that’s the important thing. I probably won’t repurchase this.

Sonic Death Monkey shower gel surprised me. If you like chocolate, orange, and coffee, this one’s for you. At first, all I really smelled was the chocolate and orange (yum!), but after this gets lathered up in the shower (great bubbles, by the way), coffee becomes the predominant scent. Not that I’m complaining. I like this. It’s thinner than Happy Hippy, but I’d probably repurchase this.

I was looking forward to trying Mask Of Magnaminty, but I think I need to try it again, because the first time I used it was pretty rushed. But it smells nice, even though it’s an odd combination of peppermint and clay. I wasn’t able to really let it dry, but I’m looking forward to trying it again.

I’m not a big perfume wearer, and the best part of Silky Underwear Solid Perfume is that it’s sneeze free. Well, after the “it smells nice” factor, of course. This comes in a tin like their lip balms (so, I’ll have to make sure to not confuse it with Honey Trap, hahaha). The scent is jasmine and vetivert, and thankfully, I smell more of the jasmine on my skin. I made my office mate smell it on my wrist, and she likes it too – said it was subtle, but very nice. There are a couple of other solid perfumes I’d like to try now.

I’m not a big lip balm wearer either, but I ordered Honey Trap because every so often, Liam likes to head butt me in the mouth. The last time it happened, he gave me a split lip. I am nothing but impressed with this product. It smells so good (it’s got honey, white chocolate, and peppermint oil in it), and the taste is extremely subtle. It’s very moisturizing. I even put some on Liam’s little chapped lips. We both had softer lips in no time.

After using Ocean Salt two days in a row, the slight break out that had started disappeared. ::sigh::: My skin likes this stuff. It costs too much money for my skin to like it as much as it does.

In the winter, my hands get dry. I’m a serious hand washer, which doesn’t help matters, so my hands have not only been dry and chapped, they’ve had little splits in the skin all over them. The Soft Touch body butter is made for just these types of situations, so I was excited to try it. I rubbed it all over my hands (it’s a solid body butter, made of butters and oils, so it’s pretty oily and greasy), then put my lotion gloves on and went to bed, expecting miraculously soft hands the next morning. Well, it sort of worked, but I wasn’t as impressed as I thought it would be. My hands were a little better in the morning, but not soft by any means. On night two, I used Ocean Salt to exfoliate my hands before I used soft touch, and while that helped a bit, I was still a little underwhelmed by how it worked. On the plus side, this smells amazing, and I’ve got the bar lying on my dresser, so every time I pass my dresser I get a whiff of the amazing scent. This is another product I’ll use up, but I don’t think I’ll repurchase. Instead, I’ll probably try to find another hand cream. I’ve heard Handy Gurugu is good.

About faithenvironmentcollide

Child of God. Follower of Christ. Wife to Jeff. Mom to Liam. Environmental steward. Writer. Reader. Researcher. View all posts by faithenvironmentcollide

Leave a Reply

